jump to navigation

Idea: Natural Mowers May 18, 2006

Posted by jojoe in Personal.
trackback

We inherited Kentucky Blue Grass here in the high desert of Salt Lake City. The grass takes a TON of water and it's even worse because we live in sandy soil, so the water just goes straight to the earth's core. My idea is that the neighborhood should raise goats. I figure if I am going to spend so much damn money keeping this grass, at least someone can eat it rather than me just cutting it. With invisible fence technology we could move the goats from yard to yard and direct their mowing/eating. Hire the neighborhood 12 year olds for the job. They're too young to get another summer job and could handle the chore of sheparding the goats. We could have goat cheese and a neighborhood cabrito feast in the fall when the grass stops growing. Just an idea I came up with while mowing my 1/4 acre of Kentucky Brown Grass.

Comments»

1. Maria - May 18, 2006

Do you mean EAT cabrito?
I was all excited about the idea until I hit the Cabrito feast…

2. Petie - May 19, 2006

You could be an example for your neigbhorhood and change to zeroscaping. I think that’s the term for desert friendly landscaping. (aka no water). With our Texas drought, I’m feeling guilty about the watering we’re having to do, too. Even the bermuda grass that trying to invade our St. Augustine is frustrated with lack of water.

3. Chris - May 19, 2006

One word. Turf.
Seriously, the word zeroscaping reminded me of something I had read that was similar – it’s xeriscaping. Xeriscaping is also known as “drought tolerant” landscaping. You can find some more information here and here

Here is a list of “water wise” plants from the Utah Botanical Center.

Tons more, starting here.

This shouldn’t stop you from having a neighborhood cabrito feast by any means.

4. Chris - May 19, 2006

http://www.premierturf.net/turf/gallery/thumbnails/2-1.jpg is the turf
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xeriscaping is the first xeriscaping link
too bad you can’t edit comments….

5. jojoe - May 19, 2006

I would, but we don’t have money sitting around to make that investment. Once I build up some capital and am working again, we’ll make the investment. It will pay off, but in the meantime I don’t want to have our lawn die.

6. pete - May 19, 2006

still not as bad as my old college friend that moved from the suburbs of Chicage to Las Vegas, but wanted his lawn to look like his old yard in Illinois.

He uses over 100,000 gallons of water @ month but his water bill is only about $200 @ month. It would be in the thousands of dollars in Houston. I have never used 10,000 gallons a month, and usually use less than 3,000 gallons.

He also complains about all the water that agriculture uses when it should be reserved for cities use.


Leave a Reply

