jump to navigation

What’s on my Ipod? May 12, 2006

Posted by jojoe in Personal.
trackback

Dare You to Move; Switchfoot; The Beautiful Letdown
Inside Out; Eve 6; Eve 6
Meant to Live; Switchfoot; The Beautiful Letdown
My Own Worst Enemy; Lit; A Place In the Sun
Ocean Avenue; Yellowcard; Ocean Avenue
Perfect Situation; Weezer; Make Believe
Santa Monica; Everclear; Sparkle and Fade
The Suffering; Coheed and Cambria; Good Apollo I’m Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness
Where Dirt and Water Collide; The White Buffalo The White Buffalo EP

This is my rock-out mix for spinning in the basement!

The only only song that is “alternative”, or not on the radio, is the last one. Maria found it after some lengthy research. We heard one of the singer’s other songs on “What About Brian” and Maria eventually found the songs on a blog (she found some other good ones too). Yes, we watch What About Brian, and we like it, OK! Check out the song, it is damn good.

Comments»

1. Petie - May 12, 2006

oof, What about Brian? It was ok, but I couldn’t take the married couple who were going to have affairs and be ok with it. Whatever.

2. jojoe - May 12, 2006

Well, it blew up in her face! Maria hated the woman. We both called her puta a lot. But it was like a train wreck, we just couldn’t look away.

3. Maria - May 12, 2006

Yeah, I hate that “puta” character, but I use the show to tell Joey what not to ever-ever do.

I admit that “What About Brian” is my latest guilty pleasure, but the music is great. Part of my research while I hunted for the songs uncovered that the show actually has a music consultant, since music is a key part of it. No wonder I can’t miss the end of every episode. They usually put the best song there.

In i-tunes, check:Waiting for My Real Life to Begin (awesome acustic guitar), Chocolate the kind of song that makes you speed while driving), Love Song #1 (this may not be from the show, but I felt in love with it while exploring The White Buffalo, since someone said one of the show songs was from him).

4. Petie - May 12, 2006

Yep, the songs on the show are awesome. I noted that when we watched… we saw the first two. I’ll have to check out these tunes, I’m always looking for good new music.

So, what happened with the puta character? I have to know now!

5. Maria - May 12, 2006

Well, of course she found a willing volunteer to help her with that “job”… Pretty gross: They did it in her van, out of the grocery store. But the guy picked her up really good, which is why I say: DON”T EVER PUT YOURSELF IN THAT SITUATION… Resisting sexual tickles is extremely hard!

She had a few more espisodes of puta behavior, until Dave (husband) started to suspect. On this season’s finale, the boys followed her around until she came into a hedious motel room to see her lova’. She actually went there to end it, but Dave didn’t know, and he had a cute pussy-cat on call, so he drove straight there and ZUAZ! The episode ended there, so we assume he had a couple “polvos” with her.

Juicy, huh?

6. Chris - May 12, 2006

If you are looking for some different music, try pandora.com. Pandora plays music similar to an artist or song (or combination) that you put in based on its musical qualities. Last.fm and Yahoo! Launchcast also give you some different music based on ratings…

I had Ocean Avenue on my running song list for a long time. Danny listened to a lot of Coheed and Cambria at one point, I’ll have to check them out.

7. Petie - May 12, 2006

Goodness. I knew it would turn on her. Serves her right! Maybe we’ll catch the ones we missed during the extremely LONG summer rerun schedule.

We watch Gray’s relgiously since seeing that special “gray in review” episode while in salt lake. There is some juicy stuff in that show, too. Loved Meredith’s last lines to McDreamy…., “… so, you don’t get to call me a whore.”

8. Chris - May 12, 2006

“Dare You To Move” = “rock out”? mellow in SLC, huh?

9. jojoe - May 12, 2006

Chris,

Yes it is mellow! But, it is actually good as an uphill climb song. Slo jam. The new bike in the basement is a spin bike so you can stand on it. The Coheed and Cambria song has been on the radio a lot, but I liked it enough to get it.

10. pete - May 12, 2006

you forgot about “Hank Williams greatest hits”

11. jojoe - May 12, 2006

Petie,

It was even juicier than Maria said. She ended up hooking up with the divorced dad of her daughter’s best friend! Yikes. They did it once in the van and then she was shamed into breaking it off. Brian’s sis said, “He gave you a necklace, and you’re seeing him again. Honey you’re having an affair.”

12. jojoe - May 12, 2006

Dad,

I want to exercise, not cry in my beer.

13. Petie - May 13, 2006

THE DIVORCED DAD!? She deserves whatever bad luck comes her way. That reminds me – when Chris and I were watching and saw him on the show… I turned to Chris and said, “Don’t worry, I have never seen a stay-at-home dad or divorced dad that looks that cute.” The kinds of dads I see out and about merit comments like this one from Joelle… We were at the park and a guy was with his kid. I said to Joelle, “Ok, sweet pea, it’s time to go.” This random guy said, “ok.” (making a joke that I was talking to him). As we were walking out, Joelle said, “That’s a big daddeh.” Thankfully, he didn’t hear. (He was really overweight).

14. Maria - May 13, 2006

Grossie Rosie!

15. Petie - May 13, 2006

Since when do you have a spinner anyway?

Two songs that motivate me when running or cardio gliding:
* Rasberry Swirl (Tori Amos) – this has excellent cadence for a sprint, I think
* Timor (Shakira)

16. jojoe - May 13, 2006

Broke down and got the spinner during Spring Break. Love it.

17. Chris - January 19, 2009

We still reference this blog post whenever we hear a mellow song like “Dare You to Move”. We say – “good spinning song!”. I had to go WAY back in your posts to find it. Couldn’t believe it was almost 3 years ago now…


Leave a Reply

